Posted By John
Melbourne Cup Winners

2015 was the 155th running of the Melbourne Cup, the “race that stops a nation”. No matter what Australians are doing, at 3pm AEST on the first Tuesday in November, people everywhere stop to listen to the race call or watch it on TV.

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s richest horse racing event with prize money of more than A$6 million. Almost everyone in Australia places a bet on the Melbourne Cup with betting running into several millions of dollars.

The 2015 Melbourne Cup Purse

The 2015 winner received  A$3.6 million. The winning jockey earns 5% of the prize money. Trainers are entitled to 10%. That leaves 85% of the money going to the horse’s owners.

1st..$3,600,000 2nd..$900,000 3rd..$450,000 4th..$250,000 5th..$175,000 6-10th..$125,000

The Melbourne Cup Winners

156th 2016 3:20:58 Almandin g Kerrin McEvoy Robert Hickmott Lloyd Williams
155th 2015 3:23.15 Prince of Penzance. g Michelle Payne Darren Weir see below
154th 2014 3:17.71 Protectionist h Ryan Moore Andreas Wohler R Power, et al
153rd 2013 3:20:30 Fiorente h Damien Oliver Gai Waterhouse A Roberts, et al
152nd 2012 3:20.45 Green Moon m Brett Prebble Robert Hickmott Lloyd Williams
151st 2011 3:20.84 Dunaden m Chistophe Lemaire Mikel Delzangles Sheikh
Fahad al Thani
150th  2010 3:26.9 Americain m Gerald Mosse Alain de Royer Dupre Gerry Ryan and Kevin Bamford
149th  2009 3:23.9 Shocking m Corey Brown Mark Kavanagh Eales Racing Pty
148th  2008 3:20.6 Viewed m Blake Shinn Bart Cummings Tan Chin Nam
147th  2007 3:23.3 Efficient m Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson Lloyd Williams
146th  2006 3:21.5 Delta Blues m Yasunari Iwata K. Sumii Sunday Racing S
145th  2005 3:19.2 Makybe Diva m Glen Boss Lee Freedman E Krstina Syndica
144th  2004 3:28.6 Makybe Diva m Glen Boss Lee Freedman E Krstina Syndica
143rd  2003 3:19.9 Makybe Diva m Glen Boss David Hall E Krstina Syndica
142nd  2002 2.25.9 Media Puzzle g Damien Oliver Dermot Weld Dr MW Smurfit
141st  2001 3:20.4 Ethereal m Scott Seamer Sheila Laxon PJ & PM Vela
140th  2000 3.18.6 Brew g Kerrin McErvoy Michael Maroney Gurners Bloodst
139th  1999 3.19.6 Rogan Josh g John Marshall Bart Cummings Mrs W.L. Green
138th  1998 3.19.6 Jezabeel m Chris Munce Brian Jenkins A.K. Burr, et al
137th  1997 3.18.3 Might & Power g Jim Cassidy Jack Denham N Moraitis
136th  1996 3:18.8 Saintly g Darren Beadman Bart Cummings Dato Tan Chin Nam
135th  1995 3:27.6 Doriemus g Damien Oliver Lee Freedman Pacers Aus Synd
134th  1994 3:19.8 Jeune g Wayne Harris David Hayes Shadwell Racing
133rd  1993 3:23.4 Vintage Crop g Michael Kinane Dermot Weld Dr M.W. Smurfit
132nd  1992 3:24.7 Subzero g Greg Hall Lee Freedman DHK Investments
131st  1991 3:18.9 Let’s Elope m S.R. King Bart Cummings Shorham Park S
130th  1990 3:16.3 Kingston Rule h Darren Beadman Bart Cummings Mr & Mrs Hains
129th  1989 3:17.1 Tawriffic g R.S. Dye Lee Freedman B.F. Avery, et al
128th  1988 3:18.9 Empire Rose m T. A. Allan Laurie Laxton Mr & Mrs Bodle
127th  1987 3:22.0 Kensei g L. Olsen Les Bridge K Mitchell, et al
126th  1986 3:21.7 At Talaq h M. Clarke C.S. Hayes Shadwell Racing
125th  1985 3:23.0 What A Nuisance g P. Hyland John Meagher L & S Williams
124th  1984 3:18.9 Black Knight h P. Cook George Hanlon R Homes a Court
123rd  1983 3:18.9 Kiwi g Jim Cassidy E.S. Lupton Mr & Mrs Lupton
122nd  1982 3:21.1 Gurner’s Lane g L. Dittman G.T. Murphy William St Syn 2
121st  1981 3:21.2 Just A Dash g P. Cook T.J. Smith L Williams, et al

2015 Melbourne Cup winning horse owners: A McGregor A T Broadfoot Galadi Holdings Wilawl Go Racing Synd Dalton Racing Men In Hats Synd & Winning Five Synd

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *