Posted By John
Mount Panorama Bathurst 1000 Race Winners

The Bathurst 1000 is known among race fans as “The Great Race”. Widely regarded as the pinnacle of Australian motorsport, the Bathurst 1000 is held annually at the Mount Panorama Circuit in Bathurst, New South Wales.

Race Results >>   Present-2011       2010-2001       2000-1991       1990-1981       1980-1971       1970-1960
Multi-Race Winners     About the Race     Motor Racing links

Top Winning Car Brands

The Australian rivalry between Ford and Holden plays out each year at Mount Panorama’s Bathurst 1000. The top manufacturers in 2013 are: Holden with 29 wins, Ford with 19 wins, Nissan with 2 wins and 1 win each for BMW, Jaguar, Mercedes-Banz, Morris, Vauxhall, and Volvo.

Top Winning Drivers

9 Wins – Peter Brock
He was such a successful a driver at Bathurst that he earned the nickname King of the Mountain. Peter Brock had nine victories (1972, 1975, 1978–80, 1982–84 and 1987). After his death, the Peter Brock Trophy was created in 2006 in his honour and is given to the race winners each year.

7 Wins – Jim Richard
Also holds the record for the most starts (35) at this event.

6 Wins – Larry Perkins and Mark Skaife
Skaife had wins with both a Nissan Skyline GT-R and a Holden Commodore.

5 Wins – Craig Lowndes
Also competed off-road in the Australasian Safari with a Holden Colorado and won the Rally Raid in his first attempt.

4 Wins – Harry Firth, Bob Jane, Allan Moffat, Greg Murphy, Jamie Whincup
Publicity from Bob Jane’s multiple wins helped him create his car dealerships and later a national chain of tyre retailers.

3 Wins – Dick Johnson, Garth Tander, Steven Richards
In the 1980 race, Johnson hit a rock on the track destroying his car. Donations by the public and Ford totalling over $70,000 allowed him to rebuild and ultimately win the following 1981 race.

2 Wins – Russell Ingall, Rick Kelly, Tony Longurst,  John Goss, Allan Grice, and John Bowe

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *