Posted By John
1989 Country Music Awards Winners

17th CMAA
Country Music Awards Ceremony

1989 Golden Guitar Awards

Saturday, 28 Jan 1989 – Calrossy Auditorium, NSW

No sponsor this year. It was originally called the Australasian Country Music Awards until 1993. “Golden Guitar” trophies were given to the winners. The Awards was a highlight of the Tamworth Country Music Festival.

 Golden Guitar Award

Album of the Year
John Williamson
Boomerang Cafe

APRA Song of the Year
Graeme Connors
We’ve Done Us Proud
Recorded by Slim Dusty

Top Selling
John Williamson
Boomerang Cafe

Heritage Award
Slim Dusty
We’ve Done Us Proud
Written by Graeme Connors

Instrumental of the Year
(True Blue)

Roll of Renown
The Hawking Brothers

Country Music Capital Award
Kevin Knapp

Male Vocalist of the Year
James Blundell
Cloncurry Cattle Song

Female Vocalist of the Year
Deniese Morrison
Battle Hymn Of Love
(Country City Music)

New Talent of the Year
Jenine Vaughan
Gypsy Man

Vocal Group or Duo of the Year
Smoky Dawson & Trevor Knight
High Country