Posted By John
Public Holidays in Western Australia

Dates of public holidays change each year and vary by state. Some dates more than 12 months in advance may not yet be officially approved. While we believe the following to be correct, please check locally for the latest information.

— 2016 —
Fri 01 Jan New Year’s Day Mon 25 Apr ANZAC Day
Tues 26 Jan Australia Day Mon 06 June Western Australia Day
Mon 07 Mar Labour Day Mon 26 Sept Queen’s Birthday**
Fri 25 Mar Good Friday Sun 25 Dec Christmas Day
Mon 28 Mar Easter Monday Mon 26 Dec Christmas Day Holiday *
Tues 27 Dec Boxing Day
— 2017 —
Sun 01 Jan New Year’s Day Tues 25 Apr ANZAC Day
Mon 02 Jan New Year’s Day Holiday* Mon 05 June Western Australia Day
Thurs 26 Jan Australia Day Mon 25 Sept Queen’s Birthday**
Mon 06 Mar Labour Day Mon 25 Dec Christmas Day
Fri 14 Apr Good Friday Tues 26 Dec Boxing Day
Mon 17 Apr Easter Monday
— 2018 —
Mon 01 Jan New Year’s Day Wed 25 Apr ANZAC Day
Fri 26 Jan Australia Day Mon 04 June Western Australia Day
Mon 05 Mar Labour Day — — Queen’s Birthday**
Fri 30 Mar Good Friday Tues 25 Dec Christmas Day
Mon 02 Apr Easter Monday Wed 26 Dec Boxing Day

*An additional public holiday is added. The Holidays Act provides for an extra public holiday
to be added when Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Year’s Day falls on a weekend.

** Queen’s Birthday
Some regional areas in WA hold the Queen’s Birthday public holiday on a different date.
These alternative dates are published when gazetted.

Local Government Authority

 Queen’s Birthday Alternative Date — Area Affected

Town of
Port Hedland
Port Hedland Cup Day
The area comprising the Port Hedland local government district.
Shire of
Community Festival (FeNaCING)
The area comprising the Roebourne local government district.
Shire of
East Pilbara
Marble Bar Cup Race Day
The area comprising that part of the East Pilbara local government district that is in, or within 150km of, the townsite of Marble Bar (constituted under the Land Administration Act 1997 section 26(2)), including the townsite of Nullagine (as constituted under that section), but not within 150km of the townsite of Newman (as constituted under that section).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *