Posted By John
2010 Commonwealth Games

Opening Ceremony … 3 Oct 2010 Host City … Delhi, India Closing Ceremony … 14 Oct 2010
Participants … 6,080 athletes (approx), 71 Commonwealth Nations
2010 Games   2010 Medals … Gold Medals Gold Silver Medals Silver Bronze Medals Bronze Events    Games Main Page

THE 2010 COMMONWEALTH GAMES was plagued by a series of problems including an outbreak of dengue fever, sparse crowds, ticketing confusion, transport woes and suffocating security. The condition of the Delhi Games was in such doubt that some top athletes backed out at the last minute.

Logo of the 2010 Commonwealth GamesFor the first time in 44 years, Queen Elizabeth II did not attend the Commonwealth Games. Instead it was announced by Buckingham Palace that Prince Charles would attend in her place.

Once again Australia claimed more medals at the Commonwealth Games than any other country. Swimmer Leisel Jones, age 25, earned 3 gold medals in Delhi to bring her overall total to an amazing 10 gold.

However, if you count the most gold won at Delhi 2010, with 5 gold medals, swimmer Alicia Coutts would be Australia’s most successful athlete at the XIX Games. She wasn’t the only standout at the Games. Artistic gymnast Lauren Mitchell won 4 golds and 1 silver in her five gymnastic events. Then there’s Emily Seebohm, who picked up 8 medals in 8 events, including three gold.

Olympic champion hurdler Sally Pearson will be remembered for winning two races, but receiving only 1 gold medal. Although Pearson won the 100m Sprint, she was informed 4 hours later that she was disqualified for a false start. She kept her cool throughout it all and 5 days later took gold in the 100m Hurdles.

Speaking of cool, temperature was a considerable factor at the games. The weather in Delhi at Games time ranged between 17°C to 37°C degrees and had a humidity factor of anywhere between 31-78%.

Mascot of the 2010 Commonwealth GamesXIX Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi Mascot

The name of the Delhi mascot is Shera which comes from the Hindi word “Sher” (tiger). In Indian mythology, the tiger is associated with Goddess Durga, the embodiment of Shakti (or female power) and the vanquisher of evil. She rides her powerful vehicle – the tiger – into combat, especially in her epic and victorious battle against Mahishasur, a dreaded demon.

Delhi Olympic Medals

The front of the medal has the Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi logo and dates. The back has the emblem of the Commonwealth Games Federation. Each medal is 6mm thick with a diameter of 63.5 mm. The signature element’s spiral fin is raised by 1mm and it rises up to 3mm on the last fin. The embossed logo and date is raised by 1mm. Each medal, manufactured by the Government Mint, Kolkata. The lanyard holding the medal has all six Games colours (red, pink, purple, yellow, green, and blue) blending into each other. The colour green also has the significance that the Delhi Games is the very first green Games.

Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games Logo

The logo of the XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi is inspired by the Chakra, the national symbol of freedom, unity and power. Spiralling upwards, it depicts the growth of India into a proud, vibrant nation. The tagline of the logo is “Come Out and Play”. It’s an invitation to participate at your best in the true spirit of the Games.

Top 24 Countries By Total Medals

Host country listed in bold, Australia in green.

Country Gold Medals Silver Medals Bronze Medals Total
13 Cyprus 4 3 5 12
14 Northern Ireland 3 3 4 10
15 Jamaica 2 4 1 7
16 Pakistan 2 1 2 5
17 Bahamas 1 1 3 5
18 Samoa 3 0 1 4
19 Botswana 1 0 3 4
20 Sri Lanka 1 1 1 3
21 Uganda 2 0 0 2
22 Nauru 1 1 0 2
23 Cayman Islands 1 0 0 1
24 St. Vincent & Grenadines 1 0 0 1
Country Gold Medals Silver Medals Bronze Medals Total
1 Australia 74 55 48 177
2 England 37 59 46 142
3 India 38 27 36 101
4 Canada 26 17 32 75
5 New Zealand 6 22 8 36
6 Malaysia 12 10 13 35
7 Nigeria 11 10 14 35
8 South Africa 12 11 10 33
9 Kenya 12 11 9 32
10 Singapore 11 11 9 31
11 Scotland 9 10 7 26
12 Wales 2 7 10 19

Participating Teams

Countries attending the games were: England, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Islands, The Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Guyana, Hong Kong, India, Isle of Man, Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Lesotho, Malaŵi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norfolk Island, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Scotland, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Uganda, Vanuatu, Wales, Western Samoa, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

More Information

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *