Posted By John
Henry Handel Richardson

1870 – 1946

Australian writer

By Henry Handel Richardson

Short Story

The Coat

Ethel Florence lindsay richardson wrote under the pen name Henry Handel Richardson.

She was born in 3 January 1870 in Melbourne, Victoria. Ethel attended Presbyterian Ladies College from age 13 to 17. Her novel The Getting of Wisdom is based on that experience.

Richardson’s home Lake View House at Chiltern Victoria was added to the National Trust of Australia in 1967. Her early years at Chiltern are featured in her novel The Fortunes of Richard Mahony.

Ethel Richardson died of cancer on 20 March 1946 in Hastings, East Sussex, England. Following her wishes, Richardson’s cremated remains were scattered at sea by her husband.

Her works include:

Novels by Henry Handel Richardson

  • 1908 Maurice Guest
  • 1910 The Getting of Wisdom
  • 1917 Australia Felix
  • 1925 The Way Home
  • 1929 Ultima Thule
  • 1930 The Fortunes of Richard Mahoney
    (trilogy: Australia Felix, The Way Home and Ultima Thule)
  • 1939 The Young Cosima

Short Stories by Henry Handel Richardson

  • 1931 Two Studies
  • 1934 The End of a Childhood
  • 1979 The Adventures of Cuffy Mahoney
  • 1992 The End of Childhood: The Complete Stories of Henry Handel Richardson

Memoirs by Henry Handel Richardson

  • 1948 Myself When Young

Films by Henry Handel Richardson

  • The Getting of Wisdom
    It was filmed in 1977 with director was Bruce Beresford. The cast included Susannah Fowler, Julia Blake, Terance Donovan and Kerry Armstrong.
  • Maurice Guest
    It was adapted, very loosely, for the movies in 1954. Filmed in Switzerland rather than Germany, it was renamed Rhapsody. The cast included Elizabeth Taylor.

Back to Australian Writers