sharing information


Archibald Prize Packing Room Prize

Regarded as the most important portraiture prize in Australia, The first Archibald Prize was awarded in 1921 for 400. In 1956 it was $1,364. By 2011 the prize had grown to $75,000. Note: the portrait on the right is the 1924 Archibald Prize Winner.

Over time two additional categories have been added to the Archibald Prize.
People's Choice Award comes with a monetary prize of $3,500. The winner is decided by votes from the viewing public. The Packing Room Prize began in 1991 and awards $1,500 to the winner. Gallery staff who who receive and install the portraits vote for their choice of winner.

The Packing Room Prize has been known as the "kiss of death" because none had won a matching Archibald Prize in the same year. There have been two winners (1988 and 2004) that won both the People's Choice Awards and the Archibald Prize in the same year.

Archibald Prize Winners >>    Present to 1991     1990 to 1951    1950 to 1921 in Australia
People's Choice Award      Packing Room Prize

Year Artist Painting Title
2016 Betina Fauvel-Ogden George Calombaris
2015 Bruno Jean Grasswill Michael Caton
2014 Tim Storrier The Member, Dr Sir Leslie Colin Patterson KCB AO (portrait of Sir Les Patterson)
2013 Mathew Lynn Tara Moss
2012 Raelene Sharp A Strength of Character, portrait of actor John Wood
2011 Vincent Fantauzzo celebrity chef Matt Moran
2010 Nafisa Glenn in Black and White Glenn A. Baker
2009 Paul Jackson Flacco's chariot Paul Livingston
2008 Martin Ball musician Neil Finn (Crowded House, Split Enz)
2007 Danelle Bergstrom Take two actor Jack Thompson
2006 Michael Mucci A working class man TV personality Scott Cam
2005 Jason Benjamin actor Bill Hunter
2004 Evert Ploeg TV journalist Jana Wendt
2003 Jan Williamson actor and writer Rachel Ward
2002 Jan Williamson singer/songwriter Jenny Morris
2001 Paul Newton Roy Slaven and HG Nelson
2000 Bill Leak Are you with me? Sir Les Patterson (a character created by Barry Humphries)
1999 Deny Christian actor and comedian Garry McDonald
1998 Kerrie Lester self-portrait as a bridesmaid
1997 Bill Leak singer Tex Perkins (The Cruel Sea)
1996 Paul Newton radio announcer John Laws
1995 Danelle Bergstrom actor and singer Jon English
1994/93 Peter Robertson singer Kate Ceberano
1992/93 Angelika Erbsland horse trainer Colin Hayes
1991/92 Greg Bridges politician Gareth Evans
We're SafeSurf Rated

Australian Facts & Information Time & Dates, School, Sports, Converters, Facts & more
Australian Website Links Entertainment, Sports, Education, Medical, Government & more

Know Australia     Voice of Australians     Uniquely Australian     Tall Poppy     Australian Cards     Flashback     Games     Home

Contact Us    Website designed & managed by Lady Luck Enterprises